Gluten-free diet : what foods to eat ?

Also called gluten intolerance, celiac disease is a chronic autoimmune disease. The adoption of dietary measures and a gluten-free diet can greatly reduce, and in some cases even eliminate, the bothersome symptoms of the disease. Find out in this article which foods to eat without gluten.

Why adopt a gluten-free diet ?

Gluten has no nutritional value, and we can therefore do without it without risk of deficiency. However, adopting a gluten-free diet has no particular effect on the health of people who do not suffer from intolerance to this protein. Discover more tips on onlyforfoodies. Although there is not yet a drug treatment for this digestive pathology, eliminating foods containing gluten is an effective form of treatment for celiac disease. Some alternative treatments are being evaluated in order to improve patient care and follow-up : since gluten is very present in your diet, implementing a gluten-free diet can be restrictive on a daily basis.

What foods to eat for a gluten-free diet ?

For a gluten-free diet, it is good to eat foods with gluten-free versions. Breads, biscuits, pastries and pasta formerly reserved for specialist shops, industrial gluten-free products are now present even on supermarket shelves. But beware : just like low-sugar products, these new products can compensate for the lack of flavor and texture with more additives or chemicals. The best thing is to read the labels carefully, and to cook raw products rather than buying ready-to-eat meals.

There are foods that naturally contain no gluten. These are all fruits and vegetables without exception. Animal proteins, such as meat, fish, seafood and eggs and dairy products, such as yogurts, cottage cheese or cottage cheese. Although their use is less widespread in our diet, there are fortunately many plants that are sources of naturally gluten-free carbohydrates :

  • Cereals : maize, rice, millet, flax, oats ;
  • Pseudo-cereals : quinoa, buckwheat, sesame ;
  • Tubers and roots : potato, sweet potato, yam, cassava, parsnip ;
  • Legumes : chickpeas, lentils, dried beans, broad beans.
A lire :   Criteria for doing business with the Chinese

There are also certain fruits such as bananas, chestnuts and pumpkins that do not contain gluten. You can therefore consume them without worry.